Day Twenty-Three

Posted: March 30, 2011 in 30 Day Photo Challenge

Day 23 (30/03/2011) – A picture of your favorite book

For those of you who know me (and you really don’t have to know me that well to know this), I love books. This post is, therefore, a very hard one, because I have a LOT of favourite books. I am a re-reader.. that’s to say I won’t just read a good book once. I’ll go over it again and again and again because I just can’t help myself. I’m like an alcoholic, except not with alcohol. I just can’t get enough of a good thing. Anyway, before I step up and name my favourite book of all time (do I really have to choose just one?!?!?!), I’d like to name a few on the runner up list. That way I’m mildly appeased.

– The Deed of Paksenarrion, Elizabeth Moon (ok, it’s three books.. so sue me..)
– Battle Royale, Koushoun Takami
– Ender’s Game, Orson Scott Card
– Persuasion, Jane Austen
– The Hunger Games Trilogy, Suzanne Collins
– Unbroken, Laura Hillenbrand (this book made me cry more than once, and I’m totally not afraid to admit that)
– The Book Thief, Markus Zusak
– We, Yevgeny Zamyatin (the one book I was forced to read in University that I actually came to love)

If you’ve read all of these books you might discover a little theme running through a good part of them.. if not, well.. get reading 😉

But my all time favourite book would have to be..

Shadow of the Wind, Carlos Ruiz Zafon

This book is amazingly written, the plot twists and winds and you can never really see what’s going to happen. It’s just a beautiful piece of work, and I would give anything – anything – to be able to write with Zafon’s skill.

Leave a Reply

