Days Five and Six – Knew I’d Forgotten Something..

Posted: March 13, 2011 in 30 Day Photo Challenge

Day 05 (12/03/2011) – A picture of your favorite memory

No, this is not an upside down photo. This is a photo of the reflection of the mountains surrounding a particularly calm arm of Doubtful Sound. This was on my second trip to the Sound, with Sean (my American boyfriend de l’heure), Mathieu and Julie (from Antipodes Travel). The first time I visited Doubtful was with one of my best friends, Tash.
I’ve chosen this as my favourite memory, because every time I enter Doubtful Sound it seems like I’m entering another world. Everything is amazingly calm, serene and magical. Completely untouched by humanity. That, and I like to think there are moose wandering around watching us while we can’t see them at all.

Day 06 (13/03/2011) – A picture of a person you’d love to trade places with for a day

This (slightly Helen Clark-ish looking lady) is Mrs Rosemary Banks, the current New Zealand Ambassador to France. Before the post she holds at this point in time, she was New Zealand’s Permanent Representative to the United Nations in New York, and even before that she was the Deputy High Commissioner to the Solomon Islands and Australia.
I’m highly envious of her having an MA in Russian from UC, and also of the post she currently holds, as well as her former ones. I would like to trade places with her for a day to see if I’m cut out for the Ministry of Foreign Affairs. It’s always been a dream of mine to be a diplomat or ambassador, but you never really know where life is going to lead. A day to try it out would be ideal 🙂

Leave a Reply

