Times they are a’changin’

Posted: February 9, 2011 in Paris

Merry meet my wonderful followers!
Today I have been in France exactly 2 weeks and 4 days – which is about 2 weeks longer than I thought I’d last when I got to the 4 day mark. I’ve been through so many ups and downs since then that it’s kind of difficult to know whether I want to stay here or leave sometimes. The prevailing feeling, however, is that I’ve put so much time, effort and money into getting here that it would be extremely irresponsible and idiotic of me to leave just when I’ve got pretty much everything settled in my Paris/Saint-Cloud life.

Since I last blogged I’ve had quite a few changes burst into being. I now live in Saint-Cloud, which is located in the Hauts-de-Seine region, just outside of Paris itself. It really is a beautiful little place, and one of the richest towns in France (thanks, Wikipedia!). I have my own little studio apartment with my own (tiny) kitchen and (handicap) bathroom, but it’s home for now and I think I can live with that. You’ll find a little example of my new living quarters below.

I’ll spare you the bathroom, although you’d probably all have a good laugh at the shower curtain I’ve strung up across the room (there’s no definable limit to the shower, so I had to make one for myself or risk the room being inundated every time I took a shower). Also, please excuse the mess in my room and the unwashed dishes.. I just finished lunch and haven’t tidied up yet.

I’ve signed up for 6 different classes:
– Female American Writers
– British Civilisation
– American Civilisation
– Literature of the Commonwealth
– American Painting and Photography
– American Literature

So far I’ve been to 4 of the 6, having missed those on Monday because I was still signing up for classes then. The ones I’ve attended are actually really interesting, and I was highly amused to find out that I’d be studying ‘Rabbit Proof Fence’ in Literature of the Commonwealth.. I’ve half expected Once Were Warriors to leap out of the woodwork..

Next week there’s a welcome breakfast for the exchange students, which should help me meet a couple of new people. I’ll update you again then!!

Comments
  1. Helene says:

    Helloooo !!! ouah ! un studio à St Cloud ! c’est sûr que c’est moins facile que la coloc pour faire des rencontres, mais avec les cours je suis sûr que tu vas faire plein de connaissance.. après tout, une petite kiwie au pays des frenchies ca ne peut que plaire !! have fun bisous

Leave a Reply

