Paris-fication in Process

Posted: January 28, 2011 in Paris

It’s cold and grey here, and despite it being one of the most beautiful cities in the world you can’t help but be a little disappointed by the weather. 2 degrees isn’t a very good show to put on, Paris – especially not with the rain and the clouds and that brief, tantalising glimpse of sun earlier in the week. That just made it a little bit worse, to be honest – those golden rays beaming down for a couple of seconds before the clouds rolled in once more. But, then again, a quick walk up to the Sacre Coeur solves things, because right there in front of you is the inexplicably beautiful urban sprawl of Paris that goes on until the horizon.. and you just can’t help but smile a little bit, even though you can no longer feel the tips of your fingers.

Having been to Paris a good few times before, I came into this whole thing thinking there wouldn’t be anything else for me to see. Of course, it’s been a good couple of years since I’ve been here (the last time was 2006, I believe), and things have changed. Prices have gone up, and you can no longer take photos inside the Sacre Coeur, for example. That, and there’s a lot more dog poo on the streets than I remember, which means that you look slightly drunk when you walk down the street. I haven’t yet made it out to Marne La Vallee, so no Disney comparisons at this point, but that will come eventually – as soon as I’ve finished filling out all the paperwork that’s required of me in order to get myself into the University Residence at St Cloud. And seeing as I’m in France, that’s quite a lot..

Better hop to it then, folks. Have a good one!

Disney owned me, and I’ve never been happier to use past tense.

Leave a Reply

