Itsakadoozie

Posted: November 5, 2010 in Disney

My birthday month has flown past, complete with escape from the States and the collection of my 26th country visited on my 24th birthday. As usual with Disney, it’s been filled with ups and downs, many new faces and friends (as well as a new roommate.. or two) and the magic that can only be found and lived at the Happiest Place on Earth.

Anyway, for some highlights..

Disney Wonder

On the 21st of October Jon and I embarked on a three night cruise to the Bahamas, whose itinerary included a stop in Nassau (Bahamas) and Castaway Cay (Disney’s Private Island). We stayed in an outside Stateroom with a balcony at the back of the boat, and despite prior commentary as to the noise of the metal railing, I slept fairly well and enjoyed having a bigger balcony.
Nassau was interesting, and reminded me somewhat of Indonesia in that there were a lot of people who seemed to be out of a job and looking to get money through various nefarious methods. Other than that it was hot, humid and we walked to a lot of forts that only took cash that we didn’t have. But I scored a pair of $10 jandals and made Jon get himself a new pair as well.. and got some colour changing hair clips and rum cake for my birthday. That was pretty much Nassau.. pretty chill overall.

Nassau From Our Stateroom

Castaway Cay, however, was an entirely different side of the penny. As most Disney properties are, this one is kept pretty much immaculate. Davy Jones’ ship (the Flying Dutchman) is anchored not far from where the cruise ship berths and the island has its own adult’s only beach (in addition to the normal one) where we spent most of the time. In addition to this there are several places where you can get lunch, including one at the adult’s only beach. We hired some bikes and cruised around the island for a bit, went to an observation tower and got a pretty good view from up there.

Castaway Cay

We ate a lot on the cruise. And when I say a lot, I mean A LOT. We went to see a movie on the boat, saw a couple of shows (including Toy Story the Musical) and had a lot of fun. I even got a birthday cake on my birthday and had a score of waiters serenade me with ‘Happy Birthday’ which wasn’t as mortifying as it would have been if I’d not had a couple of drinks by then. We watched fireworks on the top deck of the ship in the middle of the ocean and I was absolutely captivated when we cast off and instead of some boring old ship’s horn it was the first seven notes of ‘when you wish upon a star’.. all in all it was simply amazing and I don’t think I could’ve wished for a better 24th birthday. I was also pleasantly surprised to find out that a couple of my other friends were on the cruise with Jon and I, which Jon had kept secret from me until we got to a shopping information session and saw them sitting in the front row.

Apart from that it’s been a lot of working as per usual, and time seems to have sped up even more which worries me as I don’t think I’m quite ready to leave yet!! Hopefully things slow down a bit for the time being, as I have a lot of organising to do before I leave the country on the 21st of Jan..! And yes, people, I now have a date and time for departure from the states, and an arrival one for France. 2011 looms!!

Leave a Reply

