Camina a la salida, por favor – aka gt(f)o, plz.

Posted: May 2, 2010 in Disney

So.. it’s been a while. I apologise. Life has been hectic, what with changing my work place and therefore changing my work hours, and the painfully limited time that I’m not spending at work or sleeping.

For those not in the know, I’m now permanently statused at Disney’s Yacht and Beach Resort, guarding Stormalong Bay – the most amazing, sand-bottomed resort pool on property – and I’m loving it there. Being statused there means I also have to guard Boardwalk Resort’s Circus themed pool (which means staring at a clown and an elephant on crack for the entire shift) but I think I can live with that for the time being. Until the clown gets the better of me.

What gets me most about this whole thing is that I’ve been in Orlando for about 4 months now. Time truly has flown, and it seems like just yesterday that I was in the beginning stages of this whole saga, boarding my flight to Auckland from Christchurch and saying goodbye to my parents. It really is hard to believe that I’ve been in America this long (and not turned into Godzilla with all their amazingly sugary food)!

So, I haven’t really been out of Orlando since I got here (you have no idea how guilty this makes me), but I have been to an NBA match (Orlando Magic vs. Philadelphia 76ers), among some really amazing other experiences. For starters the stadium was MASSIVE, there were so so so many people, and there was free face painting. Definite highlight. I’ve also been to Cirque du Soleil (which has been one of the things on my ‘must do’ list for years now) and it was every bit as good as I thought it was going to be. So far, it’s rating as one of the top things I’ve done here – I’d recommend it to anybody.

As for the future, I’m hopefully going to go see Star Wars Live in Concert some time soon (being the geek that I am), and I’m looking into taking a couple of days off and heading to Las Vegas, or maybe New Orleans. Or New York. Who knows – I have to try and get time off first!

For a quick shout out, I’d like to note that I’ve also been very lucky to have my (awesome) friend Andy down in Orlando with me – for those not in the know, we’ve been friends since I went on exchange in France, circa 2003-4 – and he’s always up for IHOP, or Taco Bell, or a quick outing to a park or two when we both have time off, which is great. He works at Planet Hollywood, which is located in the Downtown Disney district, not too far from where I live, but as it’s an operating participant, that means he has free admission to the parks, too. Thanks to his obsession with Polar Bears and the Kraken, we’ve also been to Seaworld together (right across the road from his house), although we haven’t been since our last encounter with a deluge of rain in the parking lot.. I can’t add anything to this story, as Andy made me promise not to tell anyone.. although I could skirt naming names by saying that there was girly screaming involved upon contact with puddles, and the screaming didn’t come from me..

In other news, this site is soon to gain a sister site (hopefully) when my friend Tash starts up her blog in which she will be documenting her trip to Ireland. We await it with baited breath.. 😉

Time to go get ready for work – hope you’re all taking care of yourself. Miss you heaps!

Disney owns me, and at the moment I’m strangely ok with that..

Comments
  1. Kimmie says:

    hey there

    Sounds like an adventure you’re having there. I didn’t realise you had a blog.

    You can add my blog as a sister site too if you want! 🙂

    http://kimmiesdisneyadventure.blogspot.com/

  2. natasha says:

    yay fast internet!!! Sounds like you are having an amazing time over there. I just google earthed florida disney and it is sooo huge have you conquered the whole thing?? and have you done the haunted mansion ride? Oisin says its one of the best rides in Disney and i am soo looking foward to doing it at the Paris one!
    hope I can get started with the new blog soon. Unfortunately i am not the literary genious that you are but i hope it will be suffice!! 🙂
    Anyways catchya laters

Leave a Reply

