Americaland

Posted: February 11, 2010 in Disney

So, I think this is going to be a bit more of a rant than an update on what’s happening over here – really, it’s just work and spending days at theme parks. Yes, I realise that doesn’t exactly seem normal to you, but right now it’s completely normal for me.

However, there are some things that seem completely outside of the norm for me over here.. some of them are cool and weird, but most of them are just plain weird.

1/ The tiny TINY jar of marmite that costs around 8USD at the supermarket down the road

2/ Theme parks filled with obese people.. on mobility scooters.. who transfer from their scooters to the ride and then back again.

3/ Almost every single guy wearing skinny jeans.. it’s kinda scary and somehow it just doesn’t look right to me.

4/ Marshmallow. In a jar.

5/ Hamburgers dripping grease. D.r.i.p.p.i.n.g.

6/ 5 lane highways. They freak me out a bit.

7/ Calling muesli bars ‘granola bars’

8/ Calling blutack ‘ticky tack’

9/ Not having people understand me when I ask them where the padlocks are. In fact, not having people understand me when I go to Walmart.

10/ Walmart. And the People of Walmart.

11/ ‘Cups of pudding’. Yes, you read that right.

12/ Weirdly Shaped Yoghurt Pottles. Just.. ugh.

See?!

13/ Fahrenheit. This whole ‘minus 32 and divide by 2 thing is getting quite annoying.

14/ Square shaped cars. Everywhere.

15/ Really friggin’ low toilets. That flush weirdly.

16/ The choice of ‘french fries or grapes’ with your hamburger. You read right. French fries or grapes.

17/ Not having curtains in any room in the house.

18/ Not being able to switch powerpoints on and off at the wall. Just having to unplug things.

19/ Mentioning all the side effects of medicine right at the end of the commercial.

20/ ‘Y’all’.

21/ Burgers are NOT sandwiches. Normally. But apparently if you’re american, burgers only refer to beef, if you’ve got chicken in your burger, it’s not a burger.. it’s a sandwich. Got that?

22/ Tipping.

That’s all I can think of for the moment. I’m sure there will be more 🙂

Disney owns me, and it over feeds people.

Comments
  1. Julie says:

    Wow that really takes me back, have you got the turn right on red that had to be one of my favourite American differences. My most annoying one was when I asked for pins and they told me the pens were right in front of me. grrrr

  2. Greg says:

    Haha, that’s quite a bizarre list there. Have you tried a ‘Fluffer-nutter’? I’ve heard Americano friends rave about them.

  3. tash says:

    sounds like you are really enjoying yourself over there 😉 Grapes and hamburgers seems like a really weird combination. Love the discription of the obese people with their mobility scooters, have you seen Wall E? Im sure that movie was centred around that idea…Maybe disney pixar got the idea from watching the patrons of their amusement parks. I should really start working on my own blog soon. 84 days until i leave NZ and i have my visa now too which is really exciting. Have a good week!

  4. tash says:

    oooh and sidebar, did you know that the word pottle doesnt exsist in most countries apart from NZ?… wikipedia it if you dont believe me

  5. tash says:

    sorry not wikipedia this webiste
    http://www.commonlaw.com/Pottle.html

  6. Kimmie says:

    lol. I remember these things when I was last in the USA too. Crack up. 😛

Leave a Reply

